DUI Penalties in Birmingham – Criminal Defense Lawyers
Many people make the mistake of pleading guilty to DUI without understanding the consequences of their decisions. You have the right to representation and for counsel to protect your driver’s license.
For skilled DUI defense, consult with the experienced litigators at The Bloomston Firm in Birmingham, Alabama. They have extensive courtroom experience and know many of the key players in Jefferson County. You have only one chance to protect your future.
Consulting With a DUI Arrest Penalties Lawyer
The penalties of DUI in Alabama are severe and swift. If you refuse a Breathalyzer test, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended for 90 days with NO qualification for a restricted license. A skilled DUI defense attorney at the firm can explain the charges and how they may impact you, and advise you on the steps you need to take to get your license back.
You have only 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing. If you do not, you will automatically lose your driver’s license. An attorney at the firm can represent you at the administrative hearing with the Alabama Department of Public Safety for a possible hardship license.
- First offense DUI: A first DUI offense is a misdemeanor charge with a minimum fine between $600 and $1,200 and up to one year in jail. Part or all of your sentence for a first DUI conviction could be suspended, or you could be given probation. Additionally, increased penalties apply if your BAC was .15 or greater, including installation of an Ignition Interlock device and double fines.
- Second offense DUI: A second DUI conviction within five years of the first DUI will include at least 5 days in jail. Fines increase to between $1,100 and $5,100. Alternative sentencing may include up to 30 days of community service, installation of an Ignition Interlock device on your vehicle for two years, and loss of your license for an extended period of time. If your BAC was .15 of greater, you will face a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days and fines will double.
- Third offense DUI: A third DUI conviction carries significant penalties, including a minimum mandatory 60-day jail sentence. Fines range from $2,100 to $10,100, an Ignition Interlock device will be installed on your vehicle for three years and your license is suspended for three years. If your BAC was .15 or greater, the mandatory minimum jail sentence doubles to 120 days, and fines double to $4,100 up to $20,200.
- Felony DUI: Conviction of a Class C felony includes a prison sentence of one year plus one day to 10 years with no possibility of getting a hardship driver’s license, with fines ranging from $4,100 to $10,100 — double if your BAC was .15 or greater. Once your driving privileges are restored, you will be supervised with an Ignition Interlock device for a five-year period.
“We will either find a way or make one.”
Count on a Skilled DUI Defense Lawyer at The Bloomston Firm
The goal of a DUI defense attorney at the firm is to get the charges reduced or dismissed. The attorneys strive to minimize the impact of your DUI arrest. They can request an administrative action to stay the suspension of your driver’s license, or may begin litigation. In certain courts, you may qualify for a deferred program, which includes intense probation and alcohol education classes. With successful completion of the program, the case is dismissed, and you will not have a DUI conviction on your record.
Contact a DUI Arrest Penalties Attorney
To arrange a consultation, contact our firm online or call The Bloomston Firm today at 205-212-9700.